Opinion

shadow

Browse this collection of opinion pieces from various global information sources, and gain an insight into how people from all walks of life are thinking about, and acting upon, animal issues.

The views expressed in these opinion pieces do not necessarily reflect the views of Animals Australia.


Killing animals does damage on both sides of the knife
By GEOFF RUSSELL on MAY 20, 2016

The suffering that eating meat inflicts on animals is clear. What you might not realise is the harm it does to humanity and the planet. Read more

What I saw when I investigated Britain
What I saw when I investigated Britain's puppy trade will haunt me for a long time to come
By SAMANTHA POLING on MAY 17, 2016

Barns filled with dogs of all breeds, shrieking in cages, with no bedding or water bottles – and this was at a puppy farm approved by the local authority. Read more

Macau greyhound misery must end
By JOHN FITZGERALD on MAY 2, 2016

I've lost count of how often I’ve heard coursing and track racing fans tell us how much they love their dogs. Read more

Animals need an advocate in Canberra
By NICOLA BEYNON on APR 29, 2016

Tony Abbott took Australia backwards on animal welfare. It’s time to undo his cuts and give animals a voice in the capital. Read more

People still don't get the link between meat consumption and climate change
By ANNICK DE WITT on APR 11, 2016

A new kind of messaging could make it easier to appreciate the enormous benefits of moving away from a meat-heavy diet. Read more

Handing animal welfare to the farming industry is a big backward step
By PHILIP LYMBERY on APR 4, 2016

If Liz Truss’s plans for deregulation come to pass, the part of the industry that regards animals as products will determine how they’re treated. Read more

Arguments for live export trade ring hollow
On MAR 31, 2016

Elections are meant to help us decide what we think. But on one important issue we already know. Read more

The swift rise of cage-free eggs reveals Americans’ changing view of the moral universe
The swift rise of cage-free eggs reveals Americans’ changing view of the moral universe
By PAUL SHAPIRO on MAR 24, 2016

In 2001, just after graduating from college in Washington, DC, I booked a trip to Las Vegas. I wasn’t celebrating my newfound freedom with gambling or boozing. I was off to attend a conference about eggs. Read more

Cheap meat or the planet? Is it about personal choice or policy change?
Cheap meat or the planet? Is it about personal choice or policy change?
By RUBY HAMAD on MAR 22, 2016

For people who care about climate change but are also fond of burgers and barbecues, there is a question that is getting harder to dodge. Do we need to choose between eating meat and saving the planet? That animal agriculture has a devastating impact on climate change is no longer in question. What is debateable is just how big this impact is. Read more

Racing’s brutal obsession with whips hurts reputation and horses
By PATRICK SMITH on MAR 18, 2016

It would be wrong to say Aust­ralian racing does not know what to do with the whip. The nation’s leading authority has agreed ­jockeys can smash a horse from the 100m mark to the finish line. Read more

Why my heart sank when that gorgeous little Westie won Crufts Best in Show
Why my heart sank when that gorgeous little Westie won Crufts Best in Show
By LINDA GOODMAN on MAR 14, 2016

For the last seven years I've been glued to my TV on the night of Crufts Best In Show but not because I'm a huge fan of dog shows — it's because the minutes prior to the judge making a decision on which dog wins are the most anxious of the entire year for me as a campaigner against puppy farming. Read more

Chef Simon Bryant’s finger on the pulse: give meat the chop
By JOHN LETHLEAN on FEB 27, 2016

Pork, turkey, brisket, chicken, sausage … Yeah, and why not pile all of it on one disgusting plate at the same time, slathered in exotic chilli sauce? Now that’s eating. Read more

The lettuce was framed: A salmonella (and other meat byproducts) explainer
The lettuce was framed: A salmonella (and other meat byproducts) explainer
By GEOFF RUSSELL on FEB 13, 2016

ANALYSIS: Geoff Russell breaks down the other side of this week’s Salmonella outbreak, which has made a lot of Australians pretty sick. Read more

If meat could talk, would you still eat it?
By JARED PIAZZA on FEB 11, 2016

Futurologist Ian Pearson recently predicted that by 2050 it will be possible to implant devices into our pets and other animals to give them the ability to speak to us. Read more

The omnivore’s contradiction: That free-range, organic meat was still an animal killed for your dinner
By JAMES MCWILLIAMS on FEB 11, 2016

Oppose factory farms? Believe in animal welfare? There's still a moral problem with non-industrial alternatives. Read more

Veganuary: I was dreading giving up meat - now I can’t find a reason to eat it
By IOAN MARC JONES on JAN 30, 2016

This New Year, like every New Year, I set myself three resolutions that I planned to fail in. Read more

Activists make bold bid to break animal law out of the cage
Activists make bold bid to break animal law out of the cage
By ELISE BURGESS on JAN 29, 2016

This week, the Sundance Film Festival will screen Unlocking the Cage, a documentary that follows the Nonhuman Rights Project's unprecedented challenge to break down the legal wall that separates animals from humans. Read more

The
The 'Minister for Cruelty' could be Australia's next Deputy Prime Minister
By JORDAN SOSNOWSKI on JAN 13, 2016

Barnaby Joyce is still trying to climb the greasy pole… while he ignores animal suffering in his own portfolio. Read more

Why I'm proud to be a vegan
By JORDAN LEES on JAN 13, 2016

Vegans are often ridiculed, abused and written off as self-righteous extremists who like nothing more than to push their "beliefs" upon others. However, I wonder how many vegan-haters have actually stopped to consider the concept of veganism objectively, removing the emotional connection to their "entitlement" to have a personal choice to exploit animals? Read more

Veganism is one step closer to becoming a human right in Ontario
By CAMILLE LABCHUK on JAN 12, 2016

Does your worldview include a deep respect for animals and their rights? Do you choose to opt out of using and consuming animal products for ethical reasons? Are you vegetarian or vegan for ethical reasons? If you answered "Yes" to any of these questions... Read more

Americans need to speak out against declawing
By DENNIS TURNER on DEC 21, 2015

The bill to make New York the first state to ban cat declawing, indicates to me that there are indeed some Americans who put the interests of the animals above those of their owners. Read more


 
Make a difference for animals...