Opinion

shadow

Browse this collection of opinion pieces from various global information sources, and gain an insight into how people from all walks of life are thinking about, and acting upon, animal issues.

The views expressed in these opinion pieces do not necessarily reflect the views of Animals Australia.


My father loved racing greyhounds. He stopped because of the 'dirty business'
By DEIDRE WICKS on JUL 15, 2016

Many greyhound racers love their dogs. But the industry has a rotten core, based on cruelty, neglect and premature death Read more

Seven ways fishing trawlers aren’t great for the seabed
By CARL SAFINA on JUL 6, 2016

Shrinking sea ice and warming ocean water is moving fish farther north, and fishing vessels are coming with them. These are big trawling ships, and in other regions trawl-fishing has harmed -- in some cases ruined -- vast areas of seafloor. Read more

Australia knowingly trades in animal cruelty: former live export ship vet
Australia knowingly trades in animal cruelty: former live export ship vet
On JUN 29, 2016

The conditions on Australia's live export ships are appalling and cruel, and the Department of Agriculture has done nothing, writes Dr Lynn Simpson, a veterinarian on live export ships who was removed from her post for exposing horrific conditions. Should we trust Australia’s Department of Agriculture to regulate live export? Read more

We condemn China's dog eating, but ignore calf cruelty
By LYNLEY TULLOCH on JUN 28, 2016

The idea that some species matter more than others, and that animals are 'beneath us' are cultural ideologies only. Read more

Live exports and offshore detention: the lie that diminishes us all
By PETER MARTIN, ECONOMICS EDITOR, THE AGE on JUN 23, 2016

Who are we? We tell ourselves we are compassionate. We've rules for determining how long anyone can be in prison, rules prohibiting cruelty to animals. We even begin parliamentary sittings with the Lord's Prayer: "Forgive us our trespasses ... deliver us from evil". Yet we send people and animals to torture and death overseas with scarcely a second thought. Read more

Misuse of antibiotics in meat industry poses superbug risk
By MATTHEW WELLINGTON, FIELD DIRECTOR, ANTIBIOTICS PROGRAM, MASSPIRG AND MASSPIRG EDUCATION FUND on JUN 23, 2016

The misuse of life-saving antibiotics in the meat industry is a leading cause for concern. Read more

Vietnam cattle horror shows Agriculture Department's conflict of interest
By EMMANUEL GIUFFRE & SARAH MARGO on JUN 22, 2016

What will it take to bring an end to this trade? That's the question so many Australians will be asking our political leaders ahead of July's federal election. Read more

Live cattle trade: enough is enough
Live cattle trade: enough is enough
By ANDREW HUNTER on JUN 20, 2016

Our faith in the inherent goodness of human kind has been dealt another savage blow. Read more

Cattle ‘sledgehammering’ in Vietnam raises yet more questions over live expor
By CLIVE PHILLIPS on JUN 17, 2016

Recent revelations about the sledgehammering to death of what seem to be Australian cattle in Vietnam provide further evidence of the government’s inability to control how exported livestock are slaughtered overseas. Read more

No joy or satisfaction in five year anniversary
By ANIMALS AUSTRALIA EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, GLENYS OOGJES on JUN 8, 2016

The five year anniversary of the Indonesian live cattle trade suspension brings us no joy or satisfaction whatsoever. Read more

Killing animals does damage on both sides of the knife
By GEOFF RUSSELL on MAY 20, 2016

The suffering that eating meat inflicts on animals is clear. What you might not realise is the harm it does to humanity and the planet. Read more

What I saw when I investigated Britain
What I saw when I investigated Britain's puppy trade will haunt me for a long time to come
By SAMANTHA POLING on MAY 17, 2016

Barns filled with dogs of all breeds, shrieking in cages, with no bedding or water bottles – and this was at a puppy farm approved by the local authority. Read more

Macau greyhound misery must end
By JOHN FITZGERALD on MAY 2, 2016

I've lost count of how often I’ve heard coursing and track racing fans tell us how much they love their dogs. Read more

Animals need an advocate in Canberra
By NICOLA BEYNON on APR 29, 2016

Tony Abbott took Australia backwards on animal welfare. It’s time to undo his cuts and give animals a voice in the capital. Read more

People still don't get the link between meat consumption and climate change
By ANNICK DE WITT on APR 11, 2016

A new kind of messaging could make it easier to appreciate the enormous benefits of moving away from a meat-heavy diet. Read more

Handing animal welfare to the farming industry is a big backward step
By PHILIP LYMBERY on APR 4, 2016

If Liz Truss’s plans for deregulation come to pass, the part of the industry that regards animals as products will determine how they’re treated. Read more

Arguments for live export trade ring hollow
On MAR 31, 2016

Elections are meant to help us decide what we think. But on one important issue we already know. Read more

The swift rise of cage-free eggs reveals Americans’ changing view of the moral universe
The swift rise of cage-free eggs reveals Americans’ changing view of the moral universe
By PAUL SHAPIRO on MAR 24, 2016

In 2001, just after graduating from college in Washington, DC, I booked a trip to Las Vegas. I wasn’t celebrating my newfound freedom with gambling or boozing. I was off to attend a conference about eggs. Read more

Cheap meat or the planet? Is it about personal choice or policy change?
Cheap meat or the planet? Is it about personal choice or policy change?
By RUBY HAMAD on MAR 22, 2016

For people who care about climate change but are also fond of burgers and barbecues, there is a question that is getting harder to dodge. Do we need to choose between eating meat and saving the planet? That animal agriculture has a devastating impact on climate change is no longer in question. What is debateable is just how big this impact is. Read more

Racing’s brutal obsession with whips hurts reputation and horses
By PATRICK SMITH on MAR 18, 2016

It would be wrong to say Aust­ralian racing does not know what to do with the whip. The nation’s leading authority has agreed ­jockeys can smash a horse from the 100m mark to the finish line. Read more

Why my heart sank when that gorgeous little Westie won Crufts Best in Show
Why my heart sank when that gorgeous little Westie won Crufts Best in Show
By LINDA GOODMAN on MAR 14, 2016

For the last seven years I've been glued to my TV on the night of Crufts Best In Show but not because I'm a huge fan of dog shows — it's because the minutes prior to the judge making a decision on which dog wins are the most anxious of the entire year for me as a campaigner against puppy farming. Read more


 
Make a difference for animals...