Opinion

shadow

Browse this collection of opinion pieces from various global information sources, and gain an insight into how people from all walks of life are thinking about, and acting upon, animal issues.

The views expressed in these opinion pieces do not necessarily reflect the views of Animals Australia.


The will of the people, or the party?
By ELIZABETH ELLIS on OCT 24, 2016

From greyhound racing to free-range chickens and concerns over the live animal trade, public opinion in Australia supports increased animal welfare measures. So why isn’t that translating into policy decisions? Read more

Greyhound backlash misses the point: horrific cruelty means a ban is the only choice
Greyhound backlash misses the point: horrific cruelty means a ban is the only choice
By MEHREEN FARUQI on OCT 10, 2016

In almost all media reporting on the greyhound racing ban in NSW, and social media for that matter, the discussion quickly drifts away from the horrific treatment of greyhounds to almost any other issue. Read more

Judging Compassion: the criminal trial of Toronto Pig Save
Judging Compassion: the criminal trial of Toronto Pig Save's Anita Krajnc
By ELIZABETH ABBOTT on OCT 7, 2016

Twice, I have joined Toronto Pig Save, holding out my water bottle and crooning through tears the mantra that encapsulates our mission as well as our despair: "We see you. We're trying. We're sorry. We love you." Read more

Denials, Cover-ups And A Lack Of Transparency Killed Greyhound Racing In NSW
By PAUL NEWSON on SEP 2, 2016

Even a capable regulator couldn't save the dogs. Read more

Failure to protect
By GARY HUMPHRIES & JED GOODFELLOW on AUG 24, 2016

Despite regular media exposés of appalling cruelty towards exported live animals, the Australian Government’s response remains woefully inadequate and beset by a conflict of regulatory responsibilities, Gary Humphries and Jed Goodfellow write. Read more

My father loved racing greyhounds. He stopped because of the 'dirty business'
By DEIDRE WICKS on JUL 15, 2016

Many greyhound racers love their dogs. But the industry has a rotten core, based on cruelty, neglect and premature death Read more

Seven ways fishing trawlers aren’t great for the seabed
By CARL SAFINA on JUL 6, 2016

Shrinking sea ice and warming ocean water is moving fish farther north, and fishing vessels are coming with them. These are big trawling ships, and in other regions trawl-fishing has harmed -- in some cases ruined -- vast areas of seafloor. Read more

Australia knowingly trades in animal cruelty: former live export ship vet
Australia knowingly trades in animal cruelty: former live export ship vet
On JUN 29, 2016

The conditions on Australia's live export ships are appalling and cruel, and the Department of Agriculture has done nothing, writes Dr Lynn Simpson, a veterinarian on live export ships who was removed from her post for exposing horrific conditions. Should we trust Australia’s Department of Agriculture to regulate live export? Read more

We condemn China's dog eating, but ignore calf cruelty
By LYNLEY TULLOCH on JUN 28, 2016

The idea that some species matter more than others, and that animals are 'beneath us' are cultural ideologies only. Read more

Live exports and offshore detention: the lie that diminishes us all
By PETER MARTIN, ECONOMICS EDITOR, THE AGE on JUN 23, 2016

Who are we? We tell ourselves we are compassionate. We've rules for determining how long anyone can be in prison, rules prohibiting cruelty to animals. We even begin parliamentary sittings with the Lord's Prayer: "Forgive us our trespasses ... deliver us from evil". Yet we send people and animals to torture and death overseas with scarcely a second thought. Read more

Misuse of antibiotics in meat industry poses superbug risk
By MATTHEW WELLINGTON, FIELD DIRECTOR, ANTIBIOTICS PROGRAM, MASSPIRG AND MASSPIRG EDUCATION FUND on JUN 23, 2016

The misuse of life-saving antibiotics in the meat industry is a leading cause for concern. Read more

Vietnam cattle horror shows Agriculture Department's conflict of interest
By EMMANUEL GIUFFRE & SARAH MARGO on JUN 22, 2016

What will it take to bring an end to this trade? That's the question so many Australians will be asking our political leaders ahead of July's federal election. Read more

Live cattle trade: enough is enough
Live cattle trade: enough is enough
By ANDREW HUNTER on JUN 20, 2016

Our faith in the inherent goodness of human kind has been dealt another savage blow. Read more

Cattle ‘sledgehammering’ in Vietnam raises yet more questions over live expor
By CLIVE PHILLIPS on JUN 17, 2016

Recent revelations about the sledgehammering to death of what seem to be Australian cattle in Vietnam provide further evidence of the government’s inability to control how exported livestock are slaughtered overseas. Read more

No joy or satisfaction in five year anniversary
By ANIMALS AUSTRALIA EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, GLENYS OOGJES on JUN 8, 2016

The five year anniversary of the Indonesian live cattle trade suspension brings us no joy or satisfaction whatsoever. Read more

Killing animals does damage on both sides of the knife
By GEOFF RUSSELL on MAY 20, 2016

The suffering that eating meat inflicts on animals is clear. What you might not realise is the harm it does to humanity and the planet. Read more

What I saw when I investigated Britain
What I saw when I investigated Britain's puppy trade will haunt me for a long time to come
By SAMANTHA POLING on MAY 17, 2016

Barns filled with dogs of all breeds, shrieking in cages, with no bedding or water bottles – and this was at a puppy farm approved by the local authority. Read more

Macau greyhound misery must end
By JOHN FITZGERALD on MAY 2, 2016

I've lost count of how often I’ve heard coursing and track racing fans tell us how much they love their dogs. Read more

Animals need an advocate in Canberra
By NICOLA BEYNON on APR 29, 2016

Tony Abbott took Australia backwards on animal welfare. It’s time to undo his cuts and give animals a voice in the capital. Read more

People still don't get the link between meat consumption and climate change
By ANNICK DE WITT on APR 11, 2016

A new kind of messaging could make it easier to appreciate the enormous benefits of moving away from a meat-heavy diet. Read more


 
Make a difference for animals...

www.animalsaustralia.org