Opinion

Browse this collection of opinion pieces from various global information sources, and gain an insight into how people from all walks of life are thinking about, and acting upon, animal issues.

The views expressed in these opinion pieces do not necessarily reflect the views of Animals Australia.


Jimmy escaped the fires, but not the pain of devastating loss
Jimmy escaped the fires, but not the pain of devastating loss
By DANIELLE CELERMAJER - PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY AND SOCIAL POLICY AT THE UNIVERSITY OF SYDNEY on JAN 13, 2020

When people talk about these fires, they often speak of being overwhelmed by the enormity of the devastation. We don’t really have the capacity to grasp this much loss — not only to humans, but to wild and domesticated animals, to the bush, to the very possibility of regeneration. I know I don’t. Read more

The animals we rescue, and the animals we don’t
By SIOBHAN O’SULLIVAN - SENIOR LECTURER IN THE IN THE SCHOOL OF SOCIAL SCIENCES AT THE UNIVERSITY OF NEW SOUTH WALES on JAN 9, 2020

Australia’s bushfire crisis has produced an outpouring of kindness and compassion. But the fires have also highlighted the inconsistencies that underlie our treatment of animals. Once again it is clear that humans like some animals and dislike others, depending on how the animals serve us. Read more

It's starting to feel a lot like a vegan Christmas
By SIMON CASTLES - WRITER AND EDITOR AT THE AGE on DEC 18, 2019

Yes, there are annoying vegans. But so what? That’s no more telling than saying there are annoying Virgos, or annoying cat owners, or annoying meat eaters. That’s not really what this is about. Read more

Melbourne Cup 2019: Beyond the suits and suites is a sport that terrorises its stars
By PATRICK SMITH - SPORTS COLUMNIST on NOV 5, 2019

An already bruised sport is falling from public interest and it can no longer presume its place in Australian culture will be or even is revered. Read more

The race that shames a nation
By PETER MARES — LEAD MODERATOR WITH THE CRANLANA CENTRE FOR ETHICAL LEADERSHIP on NOV 4, 2019

Horse racing raises ethical questions that have been with us for generations. Read more

Racing gone to the dogs in appalling self-sustaining circle of cruelty
Racing gone to the dogs in appalling self-sustaining circle of cruelty
By PETER FITZSIMONS on OCT 24, 2019

“We’re talking about destroying horses on an industrial scale,” Paul McGreevy, professor of Animal Behaviour and Welfare Science at the University of Sydney. Read more

Yes, I know you love bacon – but that
Yes, I know you love bacon – but that's no excuse for the things we do to pigs
By CHAS NEWKEY-BURDEN on OCT 14, 2019

Pigs are intelligent, emotional and loyal, but many meat eaters who struggle to justify their continued consumption can't imagine giving up their favourite pork product. Read more

Australia’s Landscapes of Fear
Australia’s Landscapes of Fear
By PETER HYLANDS on OCT 10, 2019

Peter Hylands reports from Australia, where the killing of kangaroos is commonplace and the population estimates and hunting permits just don’t seem to match. Read more

Jonathan Safran Foer: I’ve got no beef with his plan to save the planet
By REBECCA NICHOLSON on OCT 7, 2019

Safran Foer’s new approach, measured and moderate, gives me hope. Read more

Crying over plant-based milk: neither science nor history favours a dairy monopoly
By HEATHER BRAY & RACHEL A. ANKENY on SEP 24, 2019

Some dairy farmers want governments to decree the word “milk” should be reserved for milk from mammals. Biology defines milk as the white fluid from the mammary glands of female mammals used to nourish their young. Read more

Animal and climate activists are merging—and for good reason
By JESSICA SCOTT-REID on SEP 17, 2019

Mounting concern for both the treatment of animals on Canadian farms and the environmental harms caused by animal agriculture is fuelling an increase in activism. Read more

Oregon governor signs law ending cage confinement for egg-laying hens
By KITTY BLOCK -- PRESIDENT AND CEO OF THE HUMANE SOCIETY OF THE UNITED STATES AND PRESIDENT OF HUMANE SOCIETY INTERNATIONAL on AUG 12, 2019

Thank you to Oregon Governor Kate Brown for signing legislation today that is a monumental win for hens confined in tiny cages in the egg industry. Chickens are inquisitive, active animals and life inside a cage is one of frustration and deprivation. Read more

Burger King is stepping up with a vegan burger; why isn’t McDonald’s?
Burger King is stepping up with a vegan burger; why isn’t McDonald’s?
By GENE BAUR -- PRESIDENT AND CO-FOUNDER OF FARM SANCTUARY, A NATIONAL FARM ANIMAL RESCUE AND ADVOCACY ORGANISATION. on AUG 7, 2019

Many of McDonald’s biggest competitors, including Burger King and Subway, have pledged to ban some of the cruellest practices inflicted on animals. But McDonald’s has refused to do the same. Read more

Welcome to Victoria, the most wombat-unfriendly state
By JO WILKINSON -- POLICY ANALYST on AUG 6, 2019

Wombats are protected in every Australian state - except Victoria. Read more

It isn’t clear how the new bill against animal rights activists will protect farmers
By PIERO MORARO -- LECTURER IN CRIMINAL JUSTICE, CHARLES STURT UNIVERSITY on JUL 22, 2019

The Criminal Code Amendment (Agricultural Protection) Bill 2019 – will tighten up existing laws, creating harsher penalties for those who incite others to trespass on farms. Read more

'We are gluttons': our excessive food habits are creating a global wasteland
By STEPHANIE WOOD — THE SYDNEY MORNING HERALD on JUN 4, 2019

Platters piled high with gourmet delicacies, mega serving sizes, recipes with dozens of exotic ingredients… Our obsession with food comes with a very real cost to the planet. When will we say enough? Read more

Vegan activists: spectacularly inconvenient but morally right
On APR 9, 2019

"What the heck do these people want?" Read more

Why your chicken wings mean we’ve entered a new epoch
Why your chicken wings mean we’ve entered a new epoch
By MAX ELDER -- RESEARCH MANAGER AT THE INSTITUTE FOR THE FUTURE'S FOOD FUTURES LAB on JAN 15, 2019

Our future in the Anthropocene, the new age now we live in, looks just like the lives of the 66 billion chickens consumed every year: nasty, brutish and short. Read more

There’s a Christmas crisis going on: no one wants to kill your dinner
There’s a Christmas crisis going on: no one wants to kill your dinner
By CHAS NEWKEY-BURDEN on NOV 19, 2018

People don’t want to work in abattoirs any more. The industry is linked to psychological and physical damage. Read more

Data shows major rise in veganism among young people
By TOD BRADBURY -- OUTREACH CAMPAIGN MANAGER AT ANIMAL AID on OCT 12, 2018

Recent reports, surveys and news stories show that plant-based eating has become mainstream – especially among young people who are concerned about the environment and animal welfare. Read more

With veganism on the rise, is meat cooked?
With veganism on the rise, is meat cooked?
By PETER SINGER -- PROFESSOR OF BIOETHICS AT PRINCETON UNIVERSITY, LAUREATE PROFESSOR AT THE UNIVERSITY OF MELBOURNE AND FOUNDER OF THE NON-PROFIT ORGANISATION THE LIFE YOU CAN SAVE. on SEP 4, 2018

Perhaps it won't take three generations for people to see the industrial raising of animals as an abomination. Read more


 

www.animalsaustralia.org